Our evolving role in trade

As the world was rebuilding in 1946, Canada had the means but not the mechanism to assist governments of other nations in their efforts. The Government of Canada responded with the creation of the Canadian Commercial Corporation (CCC). This new government organization was formed to deliver the critical Canadian resources desperately needed by European Governments for reconstruction efforts and was designed to offer rapid acquisitions to meet critical needs while maintaining careful control over the significant public funds it was managing for these purchases.

In 1956, CCC was given responsibility for Government of Canada support of the Canada-US Defense Production Sharing Agreement (DPSA). Under the DPSA, CCC acts as prime contractor on almost all US Department of Defense purchases from Canada.

CCC has evolved since that time but remains true to its original commitment to provide governments around the world with access to quality Canadian products and services under its business lines of Global Defence and Security and International Commercial Business.

Timeline

  • 1946: CCC is created as a Crown corporation by an Act of Parliament. Its mandate is to support the reconstruction of post-World War II Europe, led by the  U.S. under the Marshall Plan. Major shipments and projects include sending 23,700 horses to Europe, $4 million in automotive parts to United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration, $4 million in steel bridging to China and $62 million of ship construction for France.
  • 1947 – 1951: CCC functions as the domestic procurement agency for Canada’s Department of National Defence.

  • 1953: After the Korean Armistice, CCC steps in as the purchasing agent for the United Nations Korean Reconstruction Agency.

  • 1956: The Government of Canada and the United States Department of Defense (U.S. DoD) formalize their defence procurement relationship by signing the Defence Production Sharing Agreement (DPSA). The document situates CCC as the defence cooperation procurement portal for most contracts awarded to Canadian firms, recognizing the importance of the integrated nature of the North American defence industrial base.

  • 1961: Attained $1 billion in contract volume with the U.S. DoD, with contract inquiries from U.S. military departments hitting nearly 6,000—and jumping to 9,000 the next year, demonstrating the U.S. DoD’s trust in CCC and their interest in Canadian products and capabilities. 

  • 1962: Following the success of the DPSA, NASA signs an agreement to establish a similar level of support to NASA for contracts awarded to Canadian firms through CCC.

  • 1963: Canada and the U.S. DoD sign the Defense Development Sharing Agreement (DDSA) to promote joint funding of research and development projects conducted by Canadian companies. Contracts awarded under this program are managed by CCC in the same manner as DPSA contracts.

  • 1968: Canada’s external aid commitments continue to grow, and the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) (now a part of Global Affairs Canada) is established to manage most of Canada’s development assistance budget. Due to the Corporation’s experience in providing international aid, CCC is chosen to act as CIDA’s (now a part of GAC) primary purchaser. 

  • 1970: CCC's role as CIDA's (now a part of GAC) procurement agency for the World Food and International Food program expands, and the Corporation makes substantial purchases of Canadian wheat for distribution overseas.

  • 1975: Signing, with SPAR Aerospace (now MDA Corporation), a five-year agreement with NASA to develop the Canadarm. Launched in 1981, the Canadarm became one of Canada’s most recognizable contributions to the U.S. space program.

  • 1976: The Corporation brings Canadian technological expertise to the renowned Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope project, helping build a world-class optical/infrared telescope located at the summit of Mauna Kea Mountain in Hawaii. 

  • 1987: CCC is involved in a number of development projects around the world, including a hospital in Ivory Coast, a measles vaccination plant for UNICEF and water well-drilling equipment in Belize. 

  • 1992: CCC signs contracts for next-generation Light Armoured Vehicles (LAVs) produced by General Motors, selling the first models to Australia.
  • 1996: The Corporation celebrates its golden anniversary. 

  • 1998: CCC begins procuring vitamin A capsules on behalf of the Micronutrient Initiative, an Ottawa-based not-for-profit organization working with CIDA (now a part of GAC) and UNICEF to address malnutrition in the developing world. By 2006, the program provided nearly 4 billion capsules to malnourished children in over 70 developing countries, saving well over 2 million lives. 

  • 2002: Amendments to the Canadian Commercial Corporation Act strengthen CCC’s governance by separating the position of Board Chair from that of President, modernizing its borrowing authority and sharpening its commercial focus. In keeping with commitments undertaken by the Government of Canada at the Kananaskis G-8 Summit, CCC coordinates the selection of a fund manager for the $200M Canada Investment Fund for Africa (CIFA) in support of the New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD). 

  • 2004: CCC serves as the platform for procuring and transferring transport helicopters to the African Union for Sudan, associated with Canada's Global Peace and Security Fund. 

  • 2005: Working with Canada’s Aecon Construction, the Corporation won a significant contract to design and build Ecuador’s New Quito International Airport.

  • 2006: CCC celebrates its 60th anniversary, and the DPSA enters its 50th year of service. 

  • 2006: CCC begins to sign Memoranda of Agreement with Ministries of Defence for defence and security purchases from Canada.

  • 2007: CCC signs a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with DFAIT (now part of GAC) to support the Global Peace and Security Fund, which includes the Stabilization and Reconstruction Task Force (START), the Counter-Terrorism Capacity Building Program (CTCBP) and the Global Partnership Program (GPP). This makes CCC the Procurement Agent of choice for the Department, facilitating the delivery of goods and services for international end-use and assisting GAC in meeting its stabilization and reconstruction priorities. 

  • 2007: CCC signs a Procurement Services Agreement with the Royal Norwegian Air Force for C130 and P3 aircraft.

  • 2010: CCC supports START with disaster relief and reconstruction in Haiti, disaster relief in Pakistan, and construction in other countries such as Kyrgyzstan.

  • 2012: CCC’s DPSA business line introduces significant process improvement initiatives to better serve Canadian companies wishing to contract with the U.S. DoD and NASA.

  • 2014: CCC signs the largest advanced manufacturing export contract in Canadian history with the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. It is estimated that some 500 companies in Canada, across all provinces, will be used to deliver the contract. Additionally, there are 3,000 direct and indirect jobs per year across all regions in Canada that benefit as a result of this contract.

  • 2015: CCC signs over $225 million in export contracts with the Peruvian Ministries of Defense and Interior to supply vehicles, aircraft, military classroom training equipment and shelter systems.

  • 2016: CCC signs a contract for the construction of a new port management terminal and parking facility at the Ghanaian Port of Tema. A substantial infrastructure project, it will expand the Port by 40 acres, bringing the total size of the port to 65 acres. The new terminal will feature: customs and GPHA administrative offices, mechanical workshops, food services, parking structures and improved access roads The port of Tema currently handles 85 per cent of Ghana’s import and export cargo.
More +

L’évolution de notre rôle dans les échanges commerciaux

Alors que le monde entamait un processus de reconstruction en 1946, le Canada avait les moyens d’aider les gouvernements d’autres pays, mais ne disposait d’aucun mécanisme pour offrir cette aide. Pour combler ce manque, le gouvernement du Canada créa la Corporation commerciale canadienne (CCC). Fondée dans le but de permettre au Canada de fournir aux gouvernements européens les ressources et les produits dont ils avaient désespérément besoin pour mener à bien leurs efforts de reconstruction, la nouvelle organisation gouvernementale a été conçue pour offrir un mécanisme d’achat rapide pour répondre à des besoins urgents tout en permettant un contrôle rigoureux des fonds publics considérables engagés dans le cadre de ces achats.

En 1956, la CCC s’est vu confier la gestion de la participation du gouvernement du Canada à l’Accord sur le partage de la production de défense entre le Canada et les États-Unis (APPD). En vertu de cet accord, la CCC agit à titre de maître d’oeuvre pour presque tous les achats faits par le Département de la Défense (DoD) des États-Unis au Canada.

La CCC a évolué depuis, mais elle demeure, comme à son origine, résolue à fournir aux gouvernements du monde entier l’accès à des produits et à des services canadiens de qualité, répartis entre ses deux principaux secteurs d’activité : Défense et sécurité mondiales et Affaires commerciales internationales.

Historique de la CCC

  • 1946 : La CCC est créée en tant que société d’État par une loi du Parlement avec un mandat d’appuyer le processus de reconstruction de l’Europe après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, processus mené par les États-Unis dans le cadre du Plan Marshall. Parmi les grands envois et projets, 23 700 chevaux sont envoyés en Europe, 4 millions de dollars de pièces automobiles sont octroyés à l’Administration de secours et de rétablissement des Nations Unies, un pontage d’acier de 4 millions de dollars est réalisé en Chine et des navires sont construits pour la France, pour la somme de 62 millions de dollars.
  • 1947 - 1951 : La CCC remplit les fonctions d’agence d’approvisionnement nationale pour le ministère de la Défense nationale du Canada.

  • 1953 : Après la guerre de Corée, la CCC devient l’acheteur pour l’Agence des Nations Unies pour la reconstruction de la Corée.

  • 1956 : Le gouvernement du Canada et le département de la Défense des États-Unis (DoD) officialisent leurs relations dans le secteur de l’approvisionnement de défense en signant l’Accord sur le partage de la production de défense (APPD). L’Accord désigne la CCC comme le portail pour l’approvisionnement coopératif en matière de défense pour la plupart des contrats accordés à des entreprises canadiennes, et reconnaît l’importance de la nature intégrée de l’infrastructure industrielle de défense intégrée de l’Amérique du Nord.

  • 1961 : La CCC obtient un volume de contrats de 1 milliard de dollars avec le DoD, et les demandes de renseignements sur les contrats présentées par divers départements militaires américains s’élèvent à 6 000, pour passer à 9 000 l’année suivante. Ceci prouve la confiance du DoD dans la CCC et l’intérêt qu’il manifeste pour les capacités et les produits canadiens. 

  • 1962 : Dans la foulée du succès de l’APPD, la NASA signe une entente visant à établir un niveau semblable d’appui à la NASA dans le cadre des contrats accordés aux entreprises canadiennes, par l’intermédiaire de la CCC.

  • 1963 : Le Canada et le DoD signent l’Accord sur le partage du développement industriel pour la défense (APDID) pour promouvoir le financement commun de projets de recherche et développement menés pas des entreprises canadiennes. Les contrats accordés dans le cadre de ce programme sont gérés par la CCC de la même façon que les contrats régis par l’APPD.

  • 1968 : Les engagements du Canada en matière d’aide extérieure continuent de croître, et l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) (maintenant appelée MAECD) est établie pour gérer la majeure partie du budget d’aide au développement du Canada. Compte tenu de l’expérience de la Corporation dans la fourniture d’aide internationale, la CCC est choisie pour agir en tant qu’acheteur principal pour l’ACDI (maintenant appelée MAECD). 

  • 1970 : Le rôle de la CCC comme agence d’approvisionnement de l’ACDI (maintenant appelée AMC) pour le Programme alimentaire mondial et le programme alimentaire international prend de l’ampleur et la Corporation fait des achats importants de blé canadien en vue d’une distribution à l’étranger. 

  • 1975 : Conclusion, avec SPAR Aerospace (maintenant MDA Corporation), d’un accord quinquennal avec la  NASA en vue de mettre au point le Canadarm. Lancé en 1981, le Canadarm est l’une des contributions du Canada au programme spatial américain les plus reconnues.

  • 1976 : La Corporation permet à l’expertise technologique canadienne d’être mise à contribution dans le cadre du projet de télescope Canada-France-Hawaii, qui aboutira à la construction d’un télescope optique infrarouge de calibre mondial au sommet de la montagne Mauna Kea à Hawaii. 

  • 1987 : La CCC participe à un certain nombre de projets de développement dans le monde, y compris la construction d’un hôpital en Côte d’Ivoire, la construction d’une installation de vaccination contre la rougeole pour l’UNICEF et un projet d’équipement de forage de puits d’eau au Belize. 

  • 1992 : La CCC signe des contrats relatifs aux véhicules blindés légers (VBL) de la prochaine génération produits par General Motors, et vend les premiers modèles de VBL à l’Australie. 

  • 1998 : La CCC commence à fournir des gélules de vitamine A pour le compte de Micronutrient Initiative, une organisation sans but lucratif basée à Ottawa, collaborant avec l’ACDI (maintenant appelée MAECD) et l’UNICEF, pour lutter contre la malnutrition dans le monde en développement. En 2006, le programme aura fourni près de 4 milliards de gélules à des enfants souffrant de malnutrition dans plus de 70 pays en développement, sauvant bien au-delà de deux millions de vies. 

  • 2002 : Les modifications à la Loi sur la Corporation commerciale canadienne renforcent la gouvernance de la CCC en séparant les fonctions de président du Conseil d’administration et de président de la CCC, en modernisant le pouvoir d’emprunter de la CCC et en accentuant la vocation commerciale de l’organisation. Conformément aux engagements pris par le gouvernement du Canada lors du sommet du G-8 de Kananaskis, la CCC coordonne la sélection d’un gestionnaire de fonds pour le Fonds d’investissement du Canada pour l’Afrique (FICA) de 200 millions de dollars à l’appui du Nouveau partenariat pour le développement de l’Afrique (NEPAD). 

  • 2004 : La CCC joue le rôle de plateforme pour la fourniture et le transfert d’hélicoptères de transport à l’Union africaine pour le Soudan, en association avec le Fonds pour la paix et la sécurité mondiales du Canada. 

  • 2005 :  En collaboration avec la société canadienne Aecon Construction, la Corporation remporte un contrat important en vue de concevoir et de construire le nouvel aéroport international de Quito.

  • 2006 : La CCC célèbre son 60e anniversaire et l’APPD entre dans sa 50e année de service. 

  • 2006 : La CCC commence la conclusion de protocoles d’entente avec divers ministères de la Défense pour des achats dans le secteur de la défense et de la sécurité au Canada.

  • 2007 : La CCC signe un protocole d’entente (PE) avec le MAECI (maintenant appelée MAECD) pour appuyer le Fonds pour la paix et la sécurité mondiales, qui inclut le Groupe de travail pour la stabilisation et la reconstruction (GTSR), le Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités antiterroristes (PARCA) et le Programme de partenariat mondial. Ce protocole d’entente fait de la CCC l’agent d’approvisionnement de choix du Ministère, facilitant la fourniture de biens et de services en vue d’une utilisation finale à l’étranger et aidant le MAECD à répondre à ses priorités en matière de stabilisation et de reconstruction. 

  • 2007 : La CCC signe une entente de services d’approvisionnement avec l’armée de l’air de la Norvège pour l’approvisionnement d’aéronefs C130 et P3.

  • 2010 : La CCC apporte son appui au START dans le cadre des efforts de secours ou de reconstruction en Haïti, au Pakistan ainsi que dans d’autres pays comme le  Kyrgyzstan.

  • 2012 : Le secteur d’activités de la CCC relatif à l’APPD met en place d’importantes initiatives d’amélioration des processus afin de mieux servir les entreprises canadiennes qui souhaitent conclure un contrat avec le DoD ou la NASA.

  • 2014 : La CCC signe avec le royaume de l’Arabie saoudite le plus important contrat d’exportation dans le secteur de la fabrication de pointe que le Canada n’ait jamais conclu. On estime qu’il faudra quelque 500 entreprises canadiennes de toutes les provinces pour exécuter le contrat. Par ailleurs, ce contrat engendrera directement ou indirectement la création de 3 000 emplois par an, et ce, partout au Canada. 

  • 2015 : La CCC signe des contrats d’exportation d’une valeur de plus de 225 millions de dollars avec les ministères de la Défense et de l’Intérieur du Pérou visant la fourniture de véhicules, d’aéronefs, d’équipement de formation militaire en salle de classe et de systèmes d’abris.

  • 2016 : La CCC signe un contrat pour la construction d’un nouveau terminal de gestion portuaire et d’un nouveau stationnement au port de Tema au Ghana.  Ce gros projet d’infrastructure permettra d’agrandir le port de  40 acres, pour obtenir une surface totale de  65 acres. Le nouveau terminal comprendra : les bureaux des douanes et de la GPHA, des ateliers mécaniques, des services d’alimentation, des stationnements et de meilleures voies d’accès.  Le port deTema gère actuellement 85 p. 100 des marchandises importées et exportées. 
Plus +