Cookies

What are cookies and how does CCC use them?

Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer, when you visit a website. We use cookies to collect and save information about your browsing activities in order to understand your preferences while you are visiting our site and to recognize you when you return. You may adjust your browser settings to manage and/or delete cookies as you wish. Please consult your browser's Help Menu for instructions.

The use of cookies allows us to provide you with a tailored experience that is relevant to you based on 1) Web Analytics; and 2) Marketing Automation.

Web Analytics

Web analytics is the collection, analysis, measurement, and reporting of data about website traffic for purposes of understanding and optimizing internet usage. We collect the following types of personal information for Web analytics under the authority of the Canadian Commercial Corporation Act: your IP address, the type of browser you use, the page(s) you visited and the date and time of any requests you make. After a period, the information is disposed of in accordance with the Standard on Privacy and Web Analytics and as authorized by the Librarian and Archivist of Canada.

Cookies support web analytics by creating aggregated statistics on visitors to websites and their browsing behaviour. We use the information collected by cookies to understand what portions of our website are visited the most and to identify areas for improvement. The data is aggregated, which means the information is not used to identify you as an individual. Two types of cookies may be used for this purpose:

  1. Temporary or session cookies which are only stored on your browser for the duration of your visit. These session cookies follow and track your movements between screens to provide an improved browsing experience
  2. Persistent cookies are stored on your browser for the purposes of evaluating site usage and compiling reports on website activity. We use the third party services of Adobe Analytics for this purpose.

Marketing Automation

Marketing Automation is the collection and analysis of browser activity and other engagements you may have with CCC, such as, by phone, email, webinars, and events. To gather your online activity on CCC websites, a persistent cookie is stored on your browser when you first visit our web pages. We use the services of Sitecore Digital Marketing System for gathering and analyzing this information.

The analysis of this data allows us to provide you with information, content, products and services tailored to your interests and needs. Information about your interests and preferences will be linked to information you provide us when you choose to complete a form, for example: to submit a question, or register for a white paper or newsletter. On each form, you will be reminded that the provision of personal information is optional. If you chose not to provide us with this information we may not be able to provide you with the content you requested; respond to inquiries; or tailor the information we send you based on your preferences.

Remember, you may adjust your browser settings to manage and/or delete cookies as you wish. Please consult your browser's Help Menu for instructions.

Cookies

Qu’est-ce qu’un témoin et comment CCC s’en sert-elle?

Les cookies sont de petits fichiers texte installés sur votre ordinateur lorsque vous consultez un site Web. Nous les utilisons pour recueillir et enregistrer des renseignements sur vos habitudes de navigation afin de mieux comprendre vos préférences et de vous reconnaître lors de vos visites suivantes. Vous pouvez modifier les paramètres de votre navigateur pour gérer ou supprimer les témoins à votre guise. Pour savoir comment faire, consultez le menu d’aide de votre navigateur.

L’utilisation de témoins nous permet de vous offrir une expérience sur mesure grâce à l’analytique Web et à l’automatisation du marketing.

Analytique Web

L’analytique Web consiste en la collecte, l’analyse, la mesure et la communication de données sur le trafic d’un site Web; on y a recours pour comprendre et optimiser l’utilisation d’Internet. Nous recueillons les renseignements personnels suivants en vertu de la Loi sur la corporation commerciale canadienne : votre adresse IP, le type de navigateur utilisé, les pages visitées ainsi que la date et l’heure des demandes effectuées. Les renseignements sont ensuite détruits conformément à la Norme sur la protection de la vie privée et le Web analytique et aux exigences du bibliothécaire et archiviste du Canada.

Les témoins permettent l’analytique Web en colligeant des données cumulatives sur les visiteurs du site et sur leurs habitudes de navigation. Ces renseignements nous permettent de savoir quelles sont les parties les plus visitées de notre site et de repérer les aspects à améliorer. Puisque les données sont cumulatives, il est impossible d’identifier les utilisateurs individuels. Deux types de témoins peut être utilisés à ces fins :

  1. Des témoins temporaires ou volatiles, enregistrés sur votre navigateur uniquement pour la durée de votre visite. Ces témoins suivent vos déplacements d’un écran à l’autre pour améliorer l’expérience de navigation.
  2. Des témoins persistants, enregistrés sur votre navigateur dans le but d’évaluer l’utilisation du site et de générer des rapports connexes. Pour cela, nous faisons appel au produit d’un tiers, soit Adobe Analytics.

Automatisation du marketing

L’automatisation du marketing correspond à la collecte et à l’analyse des activités de navigation et d’autres contacts que vous avez avec CCC, que ce soit par téléphone, par courriel ou lors de webinaires ou d’événements. Vos activités sur les sites Web d’CCC sont analysées grâce à un témoin persistant installé dans votre navigateur lors de votre première visite. Nous utilisons les services de Sitecore Digital Marketing System pour colliger et analyser ces renseignements.

L’analyse de ces données nous permet de vous offrir de l’information, du contenu, des produits et des services adaptés à vos préférences et à vos besoins. Les renseignements sur vos préférences sont associés à ceux que vous soumettez lorsque vous remplissez un formulaire, par exemple pour poser une question ou vous inscrire à un livre blanc ou à un bulletin. Tous nos formulaires vous rappellent que vous n’êtes pas tenu de fournir vos renseignements personnels. Le cas échéant, nous pourrions cependant ne pas être en mesure de vous offrir le contenu demandé, de répondre à vos questions ou d’adapter les renseignements envoyés à vos préférences.

N’oubliez pas que vous pouvez modifier les paramètres de votre navigateur pour gérer ou supprimer les témoins à votre guise. Pour savoir comment faire, consultez le menu d’aide de votre navigateur.